World Champions

World championships have been held since 1981 with Australians continuing to dominate by winning 21 of these 30 championships.

To date A Cats are sailed in 19 countries throughout the World, covering Great Britain, France, Netherlands, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Spain, USA, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Poland, Argentina, Ireland, San Marino.

Year Location Winner Country
2022 Houston (USA) R. Parent (Open)
A. Landenberger (Classic)
2021 (no event)    
2020 (no event)    
2019 Weymouth (UK) M. Heemskerk (Open)
A. Landenberger (Classic)
2018 Hervey Bay (AUS) G. Ashby (Open)
A. Landenberger (Classic)
2017 Sopot (Poland)   S. Brewin Australia
2016 Medemblik (The Netherlands)   M. Heemskerk Holland
2015 Punta Ala (Italy)   G. Ashby Australia
2014 Takapuna (NZ)   G. Ashby Australia
2012 Islamorada (US)   M/ Heemskerk Holland
2011 Aarhus (Denmark)   S.Brewin Australia
2010 Cesenatico (Italy)   G. Ashby Australia
2009 Lake MacQuarie (Aust)   G. Ashby Australia
2008 (No Worlds held)     
2007 Islamorada (US)   G. Ashby Australia
2006 Vastervik (Sweden)   G. Ashby Australia
2005 Sanguinet (France)   P. Melvin U.S.A.
2004 New Plymouth (NZ)   G. Ashby Australia
2002 Martha’s Vineyard (USA)   G. Ashby Australia
2001 Port Genesta (Spain)   S. Brewin Australia
2000 Cesenatico (Italy)   N. Bunkenburg Germany
1999 McCrae (Aust.)   N. Bunkenburg Germany
1997 Long Beach (USA.)   P. Melvin U.S.A.
1996 L’Estartit (Spain)   G. Ashby Australia
1995 Andijk (Holland)   E. Babbi bbi Italy
1994 Lake Cootharaba (Aust)   M. Booth Australia
1993 Sanguinet (France)   E. Babbi Italy
1992 Silvaplana (Switz.)   P. McKenzie Australia
1991 Gromitz (Germany)   P. McKenzie Australia
1990 Napier (N.Z.)   G. Goodall Australia
1988 Turkey Point(Can.)   G. Goodall Australia
1987 Blairgowrie (Aust.)   B. Schafferius Australia
1986 Brenzone (Italy)   S. Anderson Australia
1985 Spray Beach (USA.)   A. Goodall Australia
1984 Wellington (N.Z.)   A. Goodall Australia
1982 Cesanatico (Italy)   A. Babbi Italy
1981 Botany Bay (Aust.)   B. Anderson Australia